Eddie Vedder – Ukulele Songs Deluxe Edition and Standard Edition LPs



Today, May 6, UMe/Republic Records reissues the Deluxe Edition and Standard Edition LP versions of Eddie Vedderacclaimed second solo album of May 2011 Ukulele songsthe first time this record has been pressed on vinyl since its initial LP release a decade ago.

The Deluxe LP Edition includes the original 16-track Ukulele Songs album on high-quality 180-gram black vinyl in expanded packaging that includes a 16-page booklet and special lithograph. The LP Standard Edition was also pressed on 180 gram black vinyl.

Ukulele Songs includes a fine mix of original material written by Vedder that he first performed live, alongside classics and vintage standards. A recast, uke-driven version of “Can’t Keep”, which originally appeared as the opening track on Pearl Jam’s Riot Act album in November 2002, opens the proceedings, while more recent original songs like the resigned lament of “Sleeping By Myself”, the charming amorous orbit of “Satellite”, the hopeful luminosity of “Light Today” and the instrumental interlude “Waving Palms” all set the stage for the album of 35 minutes.

Guest vocalists appear on a pair of key ukulele tracks, both of which are beautiful covers of notable standards. First, Glen Hansard (The Frames, Once) adds his Irish folk DNA to “Sleepless Nights”, which was written by Felice and Boudreaux Bryant and remade by The Everly Brothers in 1960, in addition to being covered later by Emmylou Harris. , Patty Loveless and Elvis Costello.

Second, Cat Power lends her passionate tone to “Tonight You Belong To Me,” a jazz standard written in 1926 by lyricist Billy Rose and composer Lee David. This track was also subsequently covered by Frankie Laine, Patience and Prudence and Dottie West. Versions of “You Belong To Me” were also recently featured in the acclaimed 2019 drama Blackbird and an episode of the 2020 HBO horror drama series Lovecraft Country.

Other notable covers from the LP include soulful takes on “More Than You Know” by Billy Rose and Edward Eliscu, “Once In A While” by Michael Edwards and Bud Green, and the album’s closing reading by Fabian Andre, Wilbur Schwandt and Gus Kahn. Dream a little dream.”

Produced by Eddie Vedder and Adam Kasper (Foo Fighters, Soundgarden), Ukulele Songs peaked at No. 4 on the US Billboard 200, No. 2 Top US Rock Albums on Billboard, and achieved gold status in Canada.

Listen or pre-order Eddie Vedder’s Ukulele songs here:

EDDIE VEDDER: UKULELE SONGS [Deluxe Edition LP & Standard LP]

In front of

1. Can’t Keep

2. Sleep alone

3. Without You

4. More Than You Know

5. Goodbye

6. Broken Heart

7. Satellite


1. Desire to belong

2. Hey Fahkah

3. You are real

4. Light today

5. Sleepless Nights

6. Once in a while

7. Waving palms

8. Tonight you belong to me

9. Dream a little dream

Source link


Comments are closed.